Writing

filled donutsWhat am I doing writing? I am a painter. I paint for a living, I teach painting for a living. I find both very satisfying. I love to paint. I love to teach others to paint. I now teach at a senior center, students who have retired and are seeking something of value in their retirement. Why am I writing?
Well this writing thing started out as a way to complete a rather length diatribe I began when I lived in China. I had about 700 pages of materials about my life there and wanted to work it into a book. Well 700 pages is way, way too much for a book. Thus I took a memoir writing workshop to figure out how to deal with it. I started recomposing the whole piece and got totally lost in the process. I am still working on it, but the momentum has come to a snail’s pace (or in the case of Washingtonians, a slug’s pace).
When I chose to write about my life (outside of China), I decided to write about the things and memories that made me happy. There is too much sadness in the world to foist it upon my readers and myself at this time in my life, approaching quickly, my seventh decade. So these pieces, I hope, will reflect the upbeat memories I have about my life. It certainly puts me in an upbeat frame of mind to write them. I don’t want this memoir to be a catharsis. I already went through that years ago when I had to deal with the bad things that had happened over the years. Hopefully, if you are feeling down, you will find some uplifting in spirit from reading these.
As I write, I wonder what ties these installments together. Probably nothing, except they all happened to me. They skip around from ages ago to events that happened yesterday. A hodgepodge that hopscotches from episode to episode and decade to decade and back again. Don’t try to sort it out, just enjoy it as a group of short stories by a rambling old woman who for some reason felt compelled to write it down.

3 thoughts on “Writing

    1. Well, hi!
      I’m trying to figure out how to make my own comment, but I’ll go with this tag a long for now.
      This is awesome! Deon, I hope you compile many more, and publish a book!

      Like

  1. Hi Deon, After viewing your painting, I am really hungry!   We can all use some upbeat writing.  Yours is very enjoyable…..thanks! ~ Fran ~

    From: deonmatzen To: hannahfa70@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, February 11, 2016 10:02 AM Subject: [New post] Writing #yiv6986719759 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6986719759 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6986719759 a.yiv6986719759primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6986719759 a.yiv6986719759primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6986719759 a.yiv6986719759primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6986719759 a.yiv6986719759primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6986719759 WordPress.com | deonmatzen posted: “What am I doing writing? I am a painter. I paint for a living, I teach painting for a living. I find both very satisfying. I love to paint. I love to teach others to paint. I now teach at a senior center, students who have retired and are seeking somethin” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

