Twice warmed

img_3438

Firewood warms you twice, once when you split it and once when you burn it.

It is that time of year.  Time to get the last minute wood in before the “snow flies.”  It doesn’t really do that here, but it is getting cooler with 47 degrees this morning.  A little sunshine today.  So out to the woodpile to split and stack firewood.  We had it delivered about two months ago, so it has “aged” well and most is fairly dry.  Once the weather got wetter, we covered it so it wouldn’t get soaked.

We have been having fires in the wood cookstove for about three weeks now.  If we don’t fire up one of the fireplaces, it begins to get very damp in the house.  Fall and spring, the in-between-times, we have a problem with damp, especially the fall when I am running the pressure cooker canning day in and day out.

The old Wenkle Wood Cookstove is our main source of heat in the winter.  It has three large stockpots filled with water simmering away on top, which provide heat through the night.  They are still quite warm in the morning, long after the fire has died, and the house is still toasty.

It is the soup time of year too.  With the stove going, we can slow cook almost anything, even a fifteen pound turkey in the oven.  Day before yesterday I made navy bean soup and it was delicious. Soups and slow cooked dishes like ribs, chicken, chili and more, are wonderful on the stove.

It has a warming oven which makes great yogurt and crème fraische.  The end farthest from the flame is good for raising bread and keeping the sourdough starter happy.

Needless to say we use about three cords of wood.  This entails cutting down trees or cutting up blow downs.  Fortunately the last several years no trees have blown down.  I ordered wood from the local woodlot and purchased the necessary three cords.  A cord is thirty-two cubic feet.  It is easy to get cheated, as has happened to us in the past.  Don’t let the woodman deliver at night after dark, you’ll be cheated.

I used to split all the wood with a maul or a wedge.  When I became the old person I am, I purchased a wood splitter that runs off the hydraulics on my Kubota tractor.  Best $175 investment I have ever made.  Now I can split half a cord in the morning, and this was a perfect morning for doing it, sunny, chilly, a great combination so as to not get soaking wet and not to overheat doing the work.  I didn’t split half a cord because I also stacked all I split.  For me stacking is more labor intensive than splitting.  I counted the pieces I have split and we have enough for fifteen very cold days.  Not much in relationship to the three cord pile sitting there, but there is tomorrow with a forecast of no rain.

2 thoughts on “Twice warmed

Leave a Reply

