What is it with Squirrels?

Squirrel, Grey, Brown, Fur, Cute, Mammal

(Ready, set, go!)

 

Today I was driving down the road.  This type of event happens almost daily around the island where I live.  I know that it isn’t limited to this area because I have seen it elsewhere as well.

Why do squirrels and chipmunks decide to cross the street just when I am driving by?  Why do they turn around and try to go back instead of just crossing?  Why do they do it several times before I almost run over them?

Are they like dogs who chase cars and bite at the tires?  Are they trying to bite my car tires?

As I pass the spot where the squirrel has changed his direction several times before I pass and I look in my rear view mirror cringing.  Did I run over the insane critter?  Most of the time the answer is no.  Does he just sit under the middle of the car as I pass and then race off to the side?

What is the explanation? Well, many websites posit many answers while others admit that they haven’t a clue.  I still haven’t a clue.  I strongly suspect these are teen-aged squirrels and there is a buddy in the bushes at the side of the road and they are playing a game of chicken!

2 thoughts on “What is it with Squirrels?

  1. I am puzzled, too. I enjoy watching their antics though. Also enjoy feeding them salt free peanuts in the shell. They eat in such a dainty way…then wash their face afterwards with their front paws. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

